MEMO

To: Armerita Tell From: Kelly Riley Date: March 28, 2000

Subject: Dewey L. Herring on behalf of Gulf Coast Education Initiative: SB

3111 (all school board members elected next year)

The Governor's Office received a letter from Mr. Herring, on behalf of the Gulf Coast Education Initiative Consortium, expressing great concern and displeasure with current legislative efforts to require the election of all school board members, specifically SB 3111.

I prepared correspondence for the Governor's signature acknowledging the consortium's concerns and acknowledging that the Governor will exercise careful study to the impact of all legislation forwarded to him. I copied the letter to all members of the consortium.

This case is closed.

March 29, 2000

Dewey Herring, Executive Director Gulf Coast Education Initiative Consortium USM, Gulf Park Campus 730 East Beach Boulevard Long Beach, MS 39560

Dear Dewey:

Thank you for your recent letter and comments on behalf of the Gulf Coast Education Initiative Consortium expressing the Consortium's concern and displeasure with current legislative efforts to require the election of all school board members, specifically SB 3111. I believe that we should appoint school superintendents. The election of school board members is another issue. As you know, many school districts have a system of an appointed superintendent and appointed board members which works fine. However, as with all legislation I receive, I will exercise careful study of SB 3111 and its impact, should I receive it from the Legislature.

Thank for your commitment to bettering our schools and to staying abreast of the issues affecting our schools. I appreciate your service and your comments.

Very truly yours,

RONNIE MUSGROVE

RM:klr

Cc: Dr. Lanny Acosta, Catholic Diocese of Biloxi

Mr. Henry Arledge, Harrison County School District Mr. Zeno Carter, Pearl River County School District

Dr. Tom Clark, Picayune School District

Dr. Larry Drawdy, Biloxi School District

Dr. James H. Easton, Moss Point School District

Mrs. Gylde Fitzpatrick, Poplarville School District

Mr. Carols D. Hicks, Gulfport School District

Mr. Donnie Howell, George County School District

Ms. Anna P. Hurt, Ocean Springs School District

Mrs. Cheri Ladner, Long Beach School District

Dr. William H. Lee, Jr., Jackson County School District

Mr. Henry Rath, Stone County School District

Dr. David Snowden, Pascagoula School District

Dr. Kim Stasny, Bay/Waveland School District

Dr. Phillip Terrell, Pass Christian School District

Mr. Mike Ladner, Hancock County School District

Dr. Lanny Acosta Catholic Diocese of Biloxi 120 Reynoir Street Biloxi, MS 39530

Mr. Henry Arledge Harrison County School District 11072 Highway 49 Gulfport, MS 39503

Mr. Zeno Carter Pearl River County School District 7306 Highway 11 Carriere, MS 39426

Dr. Tom Clark Picayune School District 706 Goodyear Blvd. Picayune, MS 39466

Dr. Larry Drawdy Biloxi School District 160 St. Peters Avenue P.O. Box 168 Biloxi, MS 39533

Dr. James H. Easton Moss Point School District 4924 Church Street Moss Point, MS 39563

Mrs. Gylde Fitzpatrick Poplarville School District 804 South Julia Street Poplarville, MS 39470

Mr. Carols D. Hicks Gulfport School District P.O. Box 220 Gulfport, MS 39502-0220

Mr. Donnie Howell George County School District 5152 Main Street Lucedale, MS 39452 Ms. Anna P. Hurt Ocean Springs School District P.O. Box 7002 Ocean Springs, MS 39566-7002

Mrs. Cheri Ladner Long Beach School District 111 Quarles Street Long Beach, MS 39560

Dr. William H. Lee, Jr. Jackson County School District P.O. Box 5069 Vancleave, MS 39565

Mr. Henry Rath Stone County School District 214 Critz Street Wiggins, MS 39574

Dr. David Snowden Pascagoula School District P.O. Box 250 Pascagoula, MS 39568-0250

Dr. Kim Stasny Bay/Waveland School District 201 Carroll Avenue Bay St. Louis, MS 39520

Dr. Phillip Terrell Pass Christian School District 701 W. North Street Pass Christian, MS 39571

Mr. Mike Ladner Hancock County School District 17304 Highway 603 Kiln, MS 39556