**For Immediate Release** September 14, 2000 Contact: Lisa S. Mader (601) 359-3227

## Mississippi Governor Ronnie Musgrove Appointed to Southern Regional Education Board Executive Committee

Jackson, Miss. – Governor Ronnie Musgrove has been appointed to serve on the Executive Committee of the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). The SREB helps government and education leaders in 16 states work cooperatively to advance education. It also helps states improve the quality of their education, provide greater opportunities for their students and works to raise achievement for all states.

Governor Musgrove is one of three Governors serving on the SREB Executive Committee. "It is an honor and a privilege to be appointed to serve on the Executive Committee, and to represent the people of Mississippi," said the Governor. "Education is one of the top priorities of my administration and one of the most important issues in the lives of all Mississippians. Improving education for our children is a priority for our state, and for SREB."

SREB recognizes the leadership Mississippi offers with public education. "The South is leading all other sections of America in improving education. That's a fact," said Mark Musick, President of SREB. "Governor Musgrove, the South's newest governor, has already met with the SREB Board and made it clear that he is absolutely determined to 'keep the pedal to the metal' in Mississippi and the South to improve education."

"We appreciate the assistance that SREB has provided during my years as a Senator and Lt. Governor, and look forward to working with them to put Southern schools at the top of the class."

"Great improvements have been made in our southern states," said Governor Musgrove. "We now face new and different challenges as we educate our children and prepare them to enter the workforce. We are working together to meet those challenges head on."

SREB was created in 1948 by Southern states, which include Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

# # #