

DISASTER NEWS



MISSISSIPPI EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY -- FEDERAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contacts: Amy Bissell, MEMA, 601-960-9039 (After hours pager, 601-930-2652)

FEMA-DR-1398-MS-NR16 December 31, 2001 Jay Eaker, FEMA, 601-956-1844 (Pager, 800-759-8888, PIN# 1071383)

STATE SCHEDULES BRIEFINGS TO COMMUNITY OFFICIALS ON INFRASTRUCTURE ASSISTANCE

JACKSON, Miss. December 31, 2001 -- The process of applying for federal disaster assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged as a result of the tornadoes, flooding and severe storms during the period November 24 through December 17, 2001, will be explained at a series of briefings for community officials.

Briefings on federal disaster aid programs are scheduled for local officials, and damage inspection teams are ready to go into the field, according to a joint announcement from Leon Shaifer, state coordinating officer, Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA), and Gracia Szczech, FEMA's federal coordinating officer for the disaster recovery effort.

To assist public agencies in applying for funding, Shaifer said the four applicants' briefing have been scheduled to brief officials from the counties declared for aid to local governments on the procedures to follow when applying for federal disaster assistance in the recovery effort. "The briefings are designed to assist public officials in the process of applying for assistance; they are not designed for individuals seeking assistance as that assistance is provided at the time an applicant registers with FEMA," said Shaifer.

Mississippi initially was declared a disaster area and therefore eligible for state/federal individual assistance by President Bush on December 7. The additional public assistance for 14 Mississippi counties was added December 20. The eligible counties are: Benton, Bolivar, Coahoma, Humphreys, Leake, Marshall, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tippah, Tunica and Washington.

There will be four initial briefings scheduled for 9:00 a.m. at the following dates and locations:

Thursday, January 3, 2002

Northeast MS Community College William Waller Hall Booneville, MS Officials from the counties of Benton, Prentiss and Tippah

Tuesday, January 8, 2002

EMA and E-911 Building 123 N. Pearl Street Carthage, MS Officials from Leake County

Friday, January 4, 2002

Panola County Courthouse 151 Public Square Batesville, MS Officials from the counties of Coahoma, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Tallahatchie and Tunica

Wednesday, January 9, 2002

Sunflower County Schools Education Service Building Indianola, MS Officials from the counties of Bolivar, Humphreys, Sunflower and Washington

With the presidential disaster declaration in place, affected local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore and replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities.