## Talking Points for H.B. 522

Section 3(a), Military Selective Service Act states "...it shall be the duty of every male citizen of the United States, and every other male person residing in the United States, who is between the ages of eighteen and twenty-six, to present himself for and submit to registration..."

H.B. 522 links application for a Mississippi driver's license to automatic registration with the Selective Service System (SSS).

Once a man reaches twenty-six, he can no longer register and can lose benefits tied to registration, such as Federal and Mississippi jobs, Federal and Mississippi student loans and grants for college, job training, and citizenship for immigrants.

Failure to register is a felony, subject to a fine of \$250,000 and/or a five-year prison sentence.

Mississippi is ranked 47th in the nation for registration compliance of 19-year old men.

H.B. 522 will allow the SSS to hold registration information on 17-year olds, and registers them at 17 years and 11 months of age.

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) has no objection to H.B. 522.

The Mississippi DPS currently provides driver's license data to SSS twice per year.

American Association of Motor Vehicles Administrators (AAMVA) and SSS are moving forward to facilitate electronic submission of data from state DMVS via AAMVAnet. Most states transmit data to AAMVAnet daily.

Oklahoma, Delaware, Arkansas, Utah, Georgia, Hawaii, Alabama, Florida, Colorado, Texas, Louisiana and Illinois have passed legislation linking SSS registration to getting a driver's license.

## **KEY POINTS OF H.B. 522:**

## NO FISCAL IMPACT DPS HAS NO OBJECTIONS PROVIDES A SERVICE FOR YOUNG MISSISSIPPI MEN CONTRIBUTES TO THE NATIONAL DEFENSE

Steve Melançon 601 823-3070 melancos@bellsouth.net